Books & Art by Kimberly Vogel

Beloit, WI

Danny's Story

     This is the story of Danny, who is first introduced as Kala. He is a fourteen year old boy who lives in a castle with his father, the King. Near his fifteenth birthday he is introduced to a girl hidden in an enchanted garden. Then his entire world is thrown into chaos. His father is upset to the point that he tries to kill him! But why? Once he's thrown out of his home, he discovers that his father isn't his parent, but rather the ruthless ruler who kidnapped him from his real parents! Now he has to find out who he is, while trying to keep ahead of the revolutionary actions brought by those who are upset with the King's rule. There are five books in his series. Once the series concludes there is a three book set called Queries to Generations which finishes his story.

      The series as individuals are published through Xlibris

      The first book is published as a second edition through Lulu. The five-book series as one volume is published there as well.

Roses and Shadows - Book 1 of Danny's Story


              Original Publication Date - May 2005  -  Second Publication Date - April 2009

To rule well one must rule with an iron fist. The young prince Kala knows that all too well. Yet he loves his father and supports him. But something strange happens and the king's advisor shows him another side of King Mitra Shakti. A magical garden with a strange young girl is discovered and Kala must come to grips with the reality his father is not who he thought.

(This second edition is published through Lulu with updated text and formatting)


Revenge Is a Dish Best Served Cold - Book 2 of Danny's Story

Publication Date - August 2005

Continued from the first book, Roses and Shadows, we find the former prince Kala to be alive. His name has now changed to Ravth (pronounced as Wrath) as he's been charged with ending the tyrannical king's reign. Can he revenge himself and the rest of his people by killing the one who raised him as his son? What about his best friend, the imposter's daughter? How can he explain this to her? Also, will Maska interfere with all their plans with his own devious actions? Only time will tell.


Respite at Ambert University - Book 3 of Danny's Story

Publication date - March 2006

With the demise of the Tyrant's kingdom the world is attempting to recover from the damage he brought. Following the trail of his sister, Ravth finds himself in the Kingdom of Lonan. Through word of mouth he finds the trail leading to a school. Ravth enrolls as a student teacher to continue his search. There's only one problem. He went to the wrong school! Can Ravth uphold his obligations at Ambert University while his sister is off who knows where? And whatever happened to Lyndie?


Reality Seems Twisted - Book 4 of Danny's Story

Publication date - June 2006

The dead don't always rest in peace. Sometimes they are sent back to either right wrongs or just make trouble for the living. Danny found himself in that position when his foster father murdered him. Then after that man was dead he came back to visit his daughter, who happens to be Danny's intended girlfriend. She was also cursed by the same man to love no other. What to do? There must be a cure! So Danny, Lyndie, and Captain set out into the world to find one. Can they find one or will it be too hard to overcome?


Rallying Themes - Book 5 of Danny's Story

Publication date - February 2007

Lyndie has been freed from her curse. Danny wants to stay with her, but alas he still has to return to his home kingdom to be reunited with his true family. Once in Leldyna he finds himself in the awkward position of having to prove himself worthy to be called a son of the land. Also he has to meet his true family which he does not remember at all due to being kidnapped as a very small child and raised by another. Whether or not he succeeds, will he be able to return to Lyndie or will he stay?


The Collection

Publication Date - April 2009


This story begins with Prince Kala’s usual day. It takes an unusual turn as he is introduced to an enchanted garden and its inhabitant. In his attempt to unravel the mystery, he discovers he isn’t the king’s child. He has a whole other life as Danny. The other person is the heir, but she’s hidden far away from the court. Furious at Kala’s discovery, the king turns on him. Now named Ravth, the teen is brought back from death to end the rule of the tyrant king. But after that, what happens? Will it be happily ever after for them?


This collection holds books 1-5 of Danny's Story : Roses and Shadows, Revenge is a Dish Best Served Cold, Respite at Ambert University, Reality Seems Twisted, and Rallying Themes

People and Places